Tags

, , , , , , , ,

image

I was just sitting at home this afternoon, thinking about food. It started because I was putting together this recipe book of all the little things I know how to cook or things that I want to learn how to cook. I was looking down the list and everything seems pretty healthy, you know. I’m a relatively healthy eater. I include vegetables in my meals (most of the time). But seriously I’m trying to eat a lot healthier since I’ve entered my 20’s and I have a goal of losing like 15 pounds. What I consider substantial eating is basically everything that I shouldn’t be eating. I love everything deep-fried, swirled in a blender and stuffed with carbohydrates. Unfortunately, this is why I have been having difficulty losing weight for the longest time.

I could eat really healthy if I put in more of the effort, the thing is just that I have this weakness for fattening foods. If I go off track from eating steamed vegetables and baked fish to a meal at In-N-Out, then I’m really messed up. I could literally live on In-N-Out, and the thing is about a year ago I was. I lived right up the hill from the one In-N-Out in all of Westwood, Los Angeles.

There was also a Trader Joes just a little bit further of a walk, but you know I had money, school had just started and it was so convenient. I don’t know what it is that they put in fast food that just makes it so addicting, but when I eat it once I’m hooked. And when I just thought about how much I love In-N-Out, I realized that I couldn’t be Vegan. I eat meat religiously, I love cheese,I love butter, I love ice cream, I love cow milk.

I could shop at Whole Foods and Trader Joes, and live on carrots and celery and garbanzo bean dip, it sounds very tempting. But a girl like me can hardly be deprived of meat, let alone dairy. There are ways to be healthy without being Vegan, like what I’m trying: eating everything in moderation. It’s a fair way of life, that doesn;’t require torture, torture that is for the sweet tooths and fast food fans.